Killeen DUI/DWI Defense Attorney

Killeen DUI/DWI Defense Attorney

Serving Bell, Coryell and Lampasas Counties

Free Consultations Offered 24/7

In Killeen and surrounding areas, people can be arrested for DUI/DWI if they are caught driving under the influence of alcohol at or above a level of .08 percent BAC. The limit is half that for commercial drivers (.04 percent) and zero tolerance laws apply to those under the age of 21.

Law enforcement must have reasonable suspicion to pull you over, or your traffic stop must be at a designated DUI/sobriety checkpoint. If you were arrested for DWI or drugged driving in the central Texas area, The Carlson Law Firm is an established law firm ready to assist you in fighting the penalties. A Killeen DUI/DWI Defense Attorney is ready to help.

DWI Penalties

In Texas, the penalties for driving while intoxicated (DWI) differ depending on the nature of the offense as well as any prior convictions. According to the Texas Statutes, the penalties are as follows:

First Offense

  • Fines up to $2,000
  • 180 days maximum in jail, three days minimum
  • Driver’s license suspension max one year
  • Surcharge fee of up to $2,000 for the three years to retain driver’s license

Second Offense

  • Fines up $4,000
  • One year maximum, one month minimum in jail
  • Driver’s license suspension up to two years
  • Ignition interlock device (if convicted within five years of prior conviction)
  • Annual surcharge fee of up to $2,000 for three years to retain driver’s license

Third Offense

  • Fines of up to $10,000
  • 10 years maximum, two years minimum prison sentence
  • Driver’s license suspension up to two years
  • Ignition Interlock Device (if convicted within five years of prior conviction)
  • An annual surcharge fee of up to $2,000 for three years to retain driver’s license

In arrests where the blood alcohol content level is greater than .15 percent, the court must order the installation of ignition interlock devices on all owned motor vehicles for a year following a period of license suspension. If you were arrested for a DWI where a child was a passenger, you may face a state jail felony with a minimum of 180 days to two years in a state jail facility, a fine up to $10,000 and a suspended license.

Were You Arrested for DUI/DWI in the Killeen, Copperas Cove or Lampasas areas?

It is most important to remember at this time that an arrest does not equal a conviction. This means that there is still time for one of our expert DWI attorneys in our Killeen office to build a defense against these charges and fight the criminal and administrative penalties.

There are two very important sides to every DWI case. The first, administrative, deals exclusively with your right to drive. The second is the criminal aspect which deals with your guilt or innocence and potential criminal penalties.

Killeen DWI attorneys at The Carlson Law Firm can help you by representing you at the Administrative Licence Revocation (ALR) hearing to contest license suspension/revocation, as well as at the criminal DWI hearing.

The Carlson Law Firm Will Build a Strong DWI Defense

If you need a Killeen DUI/DWI Defense Attorney after a drunk driving arrest, The Carlson Law Firm has the defense strategies you need to fight a conviction and the penalties. A DWI lawyer from our firm will fight to show that your BAC was actually under the legal limit, or negotiate a plea deal for a reduced charge/ sentence.

If you live in Bell, Coryell or Lampasas counties, take the first step in fighting your charges, contact our firm today for a free, confidential consultation with a Killeen DUI/DWI Defense Attorney.


Back to Top