Fewer Uninsured Texas Drivers
Posted By The Carlson Law Firm || 21-Jul-2012
If you are in an auto accident caused by a negligent driver, finding out that the responsible driver is also uninsured is frustrating. According to new state statistics, fewer motorists will now have to deal with this situation. The number of uninsured Texas drivers has fallen over 38 percent in just the span of a year.
Currently, state statistics indicate that 13 percent of Texas motorists are driving without the auto insurance mandated by law. Last year roughly 22 percent, or 4.2 million Texas drivers, were thought to be without minimum insurance coverage.
Officials partially credit the change to the TexasSure program aimed at getting uninsured drivers proper coverage or getting them off the road. Additionally, the state’s database of licensed drivers has also been cleaned up to more accurately show which drivers are without insurance.
The insurance department has been sending out notices warning those suspected of being uninsured that if they fail to obtain proper coverage they may face fines and license suspension. Law enforcement officers are also able to verify insurance coverage through the TexasSure system if a vehicle is stopped or involved in an accident. On a first offense, uninsured drivers potentially face a $350 fine; on a second offense drivers face up to a $1,000 fine and license suspension.
Even with these stiff penalties, 2.6 million Texans continue to drive without insurance. If you are involved in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured motorist, an attorney can provide information about your options for obtaining compensation for your injuries.
Source: chron.com, “Number of uninsured drivers on Texas roads drops,” July 3, 2012.
- Written by admin